Wennberg Honored by IHSA with 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award

By Jackie Dwelle

IHSA Western Coach Carla Wennberg was awarded the Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual board meeting in Florida. The IHSA Lifetime Achievement Award began in 1993 to honor members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, commitment, and exemplary service to the association.

Wennberg joins a long list of outstanding horsemen and women who have been recognized by IHSA for their selfless commitment to the organization. These include our own Director of Equestrian Programs, Peggy McElveen who earned the award in 2017.

“I was surprised to receive this award,“ said Wennberg. “I think of it in the same light as being a Professional Horseman in AQHA. All about giving back – at a regional, semifinal and national level. Serving as a steward and providing horses helps the association enormously. I have served as the liaison for IHSA with AQHA and I think the organization needed that. I am just trying to help the association be better and better every year. I think that is why my colleagues voted for me this year.” 

Previous winners are IHSA legends and Wennberg joins their ranks as someone who knows how to make a difference in the lives of young riders.

2018 Megan Taylor
2017 Peggy McElveen
2016 Lori Cramer
2015 Patte Zumbrun
2014 Eddie Federwisch
2013 Sally Batton
2012 Mary Drueding
2011 Cindy Ford
2010 Peter Cashman
2009 Teresa McDonald
2008 Jon Conyers
2007 Nancy Peterson
2006 Janice Callahan
2005 Jim Arrigon
2004 Olie Griffith
2003 Anne Brzezicki
2002 Jerry Steinmetz
2000 Sue Payne
1999 Naomi Blumenthal
1998 CJ Law
1997 Jane Flynn
1996 Claiborne and Tom Bishop
1995 Bob Cacchione
1994 George Lukemire
1993 Joan Johnson

One Reply to “Wennberg Honored by IHSA with 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *